Saving Penalty Kick: Should a Striker Get a Second Chance?
Watching England captain Harry Kane scoring on the penalty rebound against Denmark at Wembley stadium, I thought it’s a great injustice to a gallant goalkeeping, especially when the penalty decision was hugely controversial and contentious!
Can the rule be tweaked now? Scoring a goal in the second attempt shouldn’t be allowed.
English midfielder Raheem Sterling dashed through Denmark’s defense in extra time of the Euro 2020 semi-final and went down in the box after what appeared to be minimal contact.
Well, I understand, it’s been a rule for ages that the game is on and the striker is allowed to take a second shot even if the first penalty attempt is saved.
However, it was really heart-wrenching to see that even though Danish goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel made a stunning and spectacular save, the English captain scored on the rebound sending the English team to the final with a 2-1 win.
I believe time has come to change the rule.
Think of the goalkeeper! Think of his tremendous mental pressure in the high-voltage game. . Shouldn’t we acknowledge the goalie’s grit, skill, speed and dexterity? It was truly heart-breaking. Danish goalkeeper Schmeichel’s stupendous show went simply unrecognized on that day. The braveheart under the bar must also get his fair share of spotlight.
Poor guy! It wasn’t fair.
I think football mandarins may give it a thought and change the rule: Striker won’t be given a second chance once the first penalty attempt is saved.
- creative personality
- Cultural landmark
- Great journalist
- Interview with Personalities
- Literary/creative personality
- Political issues
- social worker
- Social/Political issues
- US Issues